Undergraduate Advising

Download the 2021 New Student Advising booklet

As an incoming freshman at Rice, you have many advisors available to you. Each residential college has four Divisional Advisors who are associated with your college, one from each of the four major undergraduate divisions. Each residential college also has a group of Peer Academic Advisors available to assist the Divisional Advisors. These advisors help you explore the majors in each division based on your personal interests and short- and long-term plans.

When you declare your major, your department will assign you to a Major Advisor. These faculty members represent a specific department or discipline and know all of the requirements for the major or minor. They can provide you with detailed information related to their discipline, including research opportunities, career paths, professional organizations and graduate school. You do not need to wait until you declare a major to consult with a Major Advisor. If you are interested in pursuing a major and need specific guidance or advice, contact a Major Advisor.

Start talking to your advisors as early as possible. There are many paths to each degree and the best courses for you may depend on your preparation and career aspirations. Your advisors can provide you with input on taking classes in a sensible order and also on how to pursue research opportunities.

Divisional Advisors

Baker - Scott Solomon
Brown - Chris Johns-Krull
Duncan - Sylvia Dee
Hanszen - Edison Liang
Jones - Barry Dunning
Lovett - George Phillips
Martel - Anthony Chan
McMurtry - Laura Kabiri
Sid Rich - Lesa Tran Lu
Wiess - Dan Wagner
Will Rice - Alma Novotny

Major Advisors


Prospectives, Freshmen and Undeclared Sophomores

Major concentrations: Biochemistry, Cell Biology and Genetics, Integrative Biology
Caroline Ajo-Franklin
Beth Beason-Abmayr
Matthew Bennett
Dan Carson
Jamie Catanese
Alma Novotny
Dereth Phillips

Major concentrations: Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Integrative Biology
Evan Siemann
Scott Solomon

Declared Majors and Minors

Major concentrations: Biochemistry, Cell Biology and Genetics, Integrative Biology
Minor: Biochemistry and Cell Biology

Kate Beckingham (Last name A-H)
Dave Caprette (Last name I-P)
Charles Stewart (Last name Q-Z)

Major concentrations: Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Integrative Biology
Minor: Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

Dave Caprette (Integrative Biology concentration only)
Scott Solomon

Transfer Credit
George Bennett (Biochemistry, Cell Biology and Genetics concentrations)
Dave Caprette (Biochemistry, Cell Biology and Genetics, Integrative Biology concentrations)
Scott Solomon (Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Integrative Biology concentrations)

Chemical Physics

Stan Dodds
Bruce Weisman


Baker - Kristi Kincaid
Brown - Zach Ball
Duncan - Matt Jones
Hanszen - Jeff Hartgerink
Jones - Bruce Weisman
Lovett - Angel Marti
Martel - László Kürti
McMurtry - Julian West
Sid Rich - Lesa Tran
Wiess - Anna-Karin Gustavsson
Will Rice - Han Xiao

Transfer Credit Jeff Hartgerink

Earth, Environmental and Planetary Sciences

Environmental Earth Science Concentration
Sylvia Dee

Geoscience and Planetary Sciences Concentrations
Helge Gonnermann

Transfer Credit
Sylvia Dee

Environmental Science

Earth Science Concentration
Carrie Masiello
Julia Morgan

Ecology and Evolutionary Biology Concentration
Evan Siemann
Adrienne Correa (Fall only)
Amy Dunham (Spring only)

Transfer Credit
Evan Siemann


Health Sciences
Cassandra Diep
Heidi Perkins

Sports Medicine and Exercise Physiology
Laura Kabiri
Amanda Perkins-Ball
Augusto Rodriguez

Transfer Credit
Heidi Perkins


Major and Minor Advisors
Frank Jones
Zhiyong Gao
Betul Orcan
Stephen Semmes
Stephen Wang

Calculus Coordinator
Stephen Wang

Transfer Credit
Frank Jones


Prospectives, Freshmen and Undeclared Sophomores
Jon Flynn
Nele Lefeldt

Declared Majors
David Caprette
Jon Flynn
Nele Lefeldt
Peter Lwigale

Transfer Credit
Dave Caprette

Physics and Astronomy

Patrick Hartigan
Chris Johns-Krull

General Physics
Stan Dodds
Paul Padley

Applied Physics
Douglas Natelson

Ching-Hwa Kiang

Chemical Physics and Overload Petitions
Jason Hafner

Computational Physics
Frank Toffoletto

Transfer Credit
Patrick Hartigan (Astronomy)
Stan Dodds (Physics)

Stan Dodds