Wiess School of Natural Sciences
#sliderCaption1 #sliderCaption2 #sliderCaption3 #sliderCaption4 #sliderCaption5 #sliderCaption6 #sliderCaption7 #sliderCaption8 #sliderCaption9 #sliderCaption10 #sliderCaption11 #sliderCaption12 #sliderCaption13 #sliderCaption14
Biochemistry & Cell Biology
Earth Science
Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
Physics & Astronomy

Mathematics' Várilly-Alvarado recognized for outstanding teaching performance


Each year, the Rice chapter of the Phi Beta Kappa national honor society recognizes a non-tenured assistant professor for outstanding teaching performance. This year's Sophia Meyer Farb Prize for Teaching will be awarded to Anthony Várilly-Alvarado of the Mathematics Department. The prize will be awarded at the annual Phi Beta Kappa initiation ceremony on Friday, May 10, 2013.

This year's runners-up are Sibani Biswal (Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering), Robert Costello (Art History), Songying Fang (Political Science), Rebecca Goetz (History), and Otilia Obodaru (Business). An ad hoc committee of the General Membership reviews student evaluations for non-tenured assistant professors. The award includes an honorarium that is partially supported by the Sophia M. Farb Family Phi Beta Kappa Endowed Fund.